Bad Squeezing

It’s the last little bit of toothpaste, handsoap, shampoo, or milk. Only a smidge is left, but it will last. I’ll make sure of it. This isn’t out of sheer laziness of not wanting to get out in the cold and go to the grocery store. (Though, that may be part of it.) It’s because I took having so much of whatever it is this time for granted.

These aren’t the only things I do this with. Sometimes, it’s the people I care about, the ones that care about me too. They’re always there, showing me that they’ll stay no matter what, but they grow impatient with me at times. That’s when I realize I haven’t been showing them that they are appreciated. (I’m guessing this is something we’re all guilty of at one point or another…?)

I may do this because I’m scared they’ll stop wanting to be around me, so I have to test their unconditional love. (Which makes no sense, if you actually think about it.) Maybe it’s because I’m not paying attention to the fact that they are already showing me that they’ll stick around no matter what. (That’s most likely it.) Whatever the reason, it can lead to squeezing the last little bit out of my loved ones. They don’t deserve that. Nobody deserves that.

I have become aware of this heinous act I’ve committed against those who love me (and I love) most. I try not to promise things I don’t know for sure I’ll keep, so I won’t promise it’ll never happen again. I do promise, however, to make a conscious effort to make sure that it doesn’t happen. Hopefully, with this effort, it won’t happen anymore.

If someone reading this is someone I’ve taken for granted, I’ve probably already apologized, but I say again, with great sincerety: I am sorry.

If you’re someone who is being taken for granted, please, tell the person doing it that’s how they’re making you feel. It’s not your fault, and you shouldn’t have to point it out, but it may be the only way. They aren’t perfect, but if they truly care about you, they’ll make an effort to stop.

If you’re reading as someone who has squeezed or is squeezing their loved ones (and not in a good way), you can change. Go to them. Tell them they are loved too. Apologize. Treat them like they are important to you. ALL THE TIME. You don’t know how much time you have with that person, so make sure you cherish it. I know I’m going to.

Leave a Reply

