The Shift

I am so happy about one of the changes taking place in my life. I’M MOVING! I’ve been living in the same place for over three years, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it. The community is great, and there are things I will miss. (Great apartment service, neighbors, and places that are a lot of fun close by.) BUT! I’m super excited for this next step in my life. The apartment I’m moving into also has several perks about it. Let me just take a second to rave about them, then I’ll tell you about something deeper, maybe.

The complex has it’s own dog park. It is closer to several things: my boyfriend, my family, and the train station. My boyfriend’s nephew and his girlfriend live on the same property. The size is nice, and the rent isn’t too expensive. It’s in a somewhat wooded part of town. The trees are lovely, and that’s in winter when everything is pretty much dead! Though, I do enjoy the sight of the bare trees, I’m thinking they might look even better in the spring and summer. The staff is really friendly. All in all, things are looking like it’s going to be a great place to live. My wonderful boyfriend has already looked up several things around there that are beneficial to have close to me/us. (If you can’t tell, I’m pretty stoked.)

Human beings do not always handle change well. I know I let myself get stressed and worried sometimes. (So do you, so no judging.) I do want to make the move, and I am so ready for it, but I’m also nervous. I plan to stay on top of things. I hope that I can stay one step ahead by getting rid of objects in my place I don’t need and packing the stuff I want to keep early. However, something might go wrong, and that’s okay. (If I have a panic attack down the road, please remind me of this. Thanks.)

The point is when things change, hopefully, it’s for the better. For the sake of progress or improvement. Sometimes, though, things change that are out of our control. In those times it can be tough to handle the shift. The way to do that is to focus on the things that we can control and try to take the things that we can’t in stride. (I know, it’s not easy. That’s okay, too. Breathe.)

I’m glad this change I’m going through now is an upgrade and a process I have mostly in my control. If something goes wrong…well, I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

Leave a Reply

