Just Thinking…

Maybe some of you remember when I posted about Sam and encouraged everyone to smile at people. That was a while back.

Well, I haven’t written in a while, but I found out some time ago that Sam passed away. He had been sick with cancer and lost his fight. I remember, when I found out, feeling so sad that someone who could bring such a bright light to the world could be gone.

In all honesty, I didn’t know Sam very well. He was older. He worked in a deli. He was married. He had an accent and darker skin. He wore glasses. He was tall. However, I think the most important thing I knew about Sam was that he was kind.

Like I said in my last post about him, he always had a smile on his face, even when discussing his diagnosis and treatments. Now, maybe he was only ever nice to me. Maybe he went home and the weight of the day got to him, and he wouldn’t be very cordial. I highly doubt it, but let’s just say that’s the case.

What I’m trying to say is maybe Sam was human and therefore wasn’t perfect, but he positively impacted my life. I don’t think he knew to what extent he impacted it, but he did. Just his smile and encouraging words were something that got me through some long work days.

I don’t even think he knew how much his words meant to me, or that I’d pass them on.

My life has changed quite a bit since I last spoke to him, but his positivity is something I’ll never forget or cease to admire.

Just to be clear, I’ll be the first to admit I’m never Ms. Sunshine. I walk around in a haze of cloudy darkness, but every now and then I see someone who could use a hand. When I give, as long as it’s genuine, that could impact someone’s life in a way I’ll never see.

Right now, I want to share Sam’s kindness with you, because he gave me something I’ll never forget. Maybe it won’t inspire you like it did me, but hopefully it will at least give one or two of you a moment of positivity, which all of us need every once in a while.

So, here it goes:

Never stop following your dreams. Remain passionate and upright. Hard days will come. Stress will overwhelm you. Don’t mistake immorality and lack of compassion for getting ahead. The easy path will seem so tempting.

However, if what you’re fighting against all that for makes you happy, then fight. Never give up. You’re wonderful and beautiful. You are kind and smart. No one else in the world is like you.

You can impact the world, or your little piece of it in a positive way.

I may not be as poetic as Sam, but hey I’m trying here.

Leave a Reply

